Welcome from the Chair

Grant Wilson, Chair, CST, FAST
NBSTSA Board of Directors

Thank you for taking time to learn more about the Foundation for Surgical Technology. Whether you are one of more than 280 surgical technologists who received a scholarship, are interested in applying for one or just want to support your profession, we welcome you.

The Foundation for Surgical Technology is a 501c3 nonprofit organization whose mission is to enhance surgical technology by funding educational, professional and community programs. We have been giving scholarships to hard-working surgical technology students since 1999 and are honored to have awarded more than $240,000 in assistance.

The Association of Surgical Technologists (AST) started the Foundation and continues to provide regular funding, staff and board support to cover administrative costs. In 2016, AST parterned with the National Board for Surgical Technology and Surgical Assisting (NBSTSA) to jointly support the surgical technology program sponsored by the Foundation. Board members from the partner organizations worked together to choose the 2016 scholarship recipients. This partnership will allow the Foundation to give even more scholarships in the future.

We proudly recognize individual contributions as well as continued support from AST state assemblies. The Foundation takes pride in the fact that 100% of your donations go back toward scholarships.

The Foundation for Surgical Technology committee members are appointed by AST President Roy Zacharias, CST, FAST; and NBSTSA President Crit Fisher, CST, FAST. All of us are Certified Surgical Technologists who also serve on the board of directors for our respective organizations.

We hope you take time browse through our website, learn about our history, meet our past scholarship recipients, fill out an application or give back to your profession. If you have any questions, please contact us.

Foundation for Surgical Technology Committee

Dana Bancer, CST, FAST
NBSTSA Vice President
Kevin Craycraft, CST, CSFA, FAST
AST Board of Directors
Sandra Farley, CST, FAST
AST Board of Directors
Peggy Varnado, CST, CSFA, FAST
AST Board of Directors